Hunting Preserves

Any person who wishes to operate a private hunting preserve commercially or otherwise must first obtain a hunting preserve license from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

A Hunting Preserve License is required to release game animals on private property for hunting purposes.

Costs

The cost of the license is $70. All hunting patrons must have a Florida hunting license as required by Section 379.354, Florida Statutes. A commercial hunting preserve license, which exempts patrons from the hunting license requirements, may be purchased for $500.

Eligibility

In order to be eligible for a Blanket Hunting Preserve License, a preserve must have a valid Hunting Preserve License, be operated exclusively for commercial purposes, is open to the public, and charges a uniform fee to patrons for hunting privileges. 

License exemptions for patrons

Customers or patrons (residents and non-residents) hunting on a hunting preserve with a Blanket Hunt Preserve License are exempt from having a Hunting License; Deer Permit; Florida Waterfowl Permit; Annual Archery Season Permit; Annual Crossbow Season Permit; Annual Muzzle-loading Gun Season Permit; and/or Turkey Permit.

Regulations

Rule 68A-12.010, Florida Administrative Code, Regulations Governing the Operation of Private Hunting Preserves, can be found online. Once at this website, enter 68A-12 in the "By Chapter Number" box under "Search for Rules in the Florida Administrative Code" and then click the "GO" button. When the list of rules appears, click on the link to rule number 68A12.010, Florida Administrative Code.

We appreciate your interest in hunting preserves. If you have any questions, please visit Ask FWC, write to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Division of Law Enforcement, Captive Wildlife Office, 620 South Meridian Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1600, or call (850) 488-6253.

Hunting Preserves (Memo) icon_PDF.gif

 



FWC Facts:
Divers-down flags must be at least 20x24 inches, and use a stiffener to keep the flag unfurled. Dive flags carried on floats must be at least 12x12 inches.

Learn More at AskFWC