Hunter safety course in Miami-Dade County
Tuesday, August 31, 2010
Media contact: Gaby Ferraro, 561-625-5122
The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation
Commission (FWC) will offer a free hunter safety course Sept. 10-12
in Miami-Dade County.
Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun
handling and wildlife identification before taking the final test.
The course also includes live-firing instruction on a
Instruction will take place 6-10 p.m. Sept. 10; 8
a.m. - 6 p.m. Sept. 11; and 7-9 a.m. Sept. 12 at the American
Legion Hall, 6445 NE 7th Ave. in Miami. Attendance on all three
days is required for certification.
Space is limited, and reservations are required by
going to MyFWC.com/HunterSafety or by calling 561-625-5122. A
statewide schedule of hunter safety classes also is available at
Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an
approved hunter safety course before purchasing a Florida hunting
license. Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under
16 years old to all classes. To participate in the live-fire
exercises, children under 18 years old must present a parental
release form signed by a parent or legal guardian.