News Releases

Hunter safety course in Miami-Dade Co.

News Release

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Media contact: Carli Segelson, 561-882-5703

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) will host a free hunter safety course on May 25 from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m., May 26 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and May 27 from 6:30 a.m. to 8 a.m. Attendance on all three days is required for certification.

Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun handling and hunter ethics/responsibility, among other topics, before taking the final test. The course also includes live-firing instruction on a shooting range.

Classes will be at the Dade County Extension Office, 18710 SW 288th Street, Homestead, FL  33030.

Participants can sign up at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety or by calling the FWC’s South Region Office at 561-625-5122. A statewide schedule of hunter safety classes is available at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety.

Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an approved hunter safety course before purchasing a Florida hunting license. Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under 16 years of age to all classes. To participate in live-fire exercises, children under 18 years old must present a parental release form signed by a parent or legal guardian.                           



FWC Facts:
Panthers space themselves so they will have enough food. If panthers lived close together, all the deer would soon be gone, and there wouldn't be enough to eat.

Learn More at AskFWC