Hunter safety course in Okeechobee Co.
Thursday, May 31, 2012
Media contact: Carli Segelson, 561-882-5703
The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) will host a free hunter safety course June 2-3 from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. both days.
Except for those who have already successfully completed the online portion of the course, attendance on both days is required for certification. If you have completed the online course, you only need to attend the first day. However, you will need to bring the final Web report, which does not have to be notarized.
Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun handling and hunter ethics/responsibility, among other topics, before taking the final test. The course also includes live-firing instruction on a shooting range.
Classes both days are at the Okeechobee County Sheriff’s Office Shooting Range, 5025 S.W. 26th Ave., in Okeechobee.
Participants can sign up at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety or by calling the FWC’s South Region Office at 561-625-5122. A link to the online part of the course and a statewide schedule of hunter safety classes are available at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety.
The FWC recommends taking these courses in the spring and summer, as classes in the fall can fill up quickly.
Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an approved hunter safety course before purchasing a Florida hunting license. Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under 16 years of age to all classes. To participate in the live-fire exercises, children under 18 years old must present a parental release form signed by a parent or legal guardian.