Since 1988, Florida's statewide alligator harvest has been nationally and internationally recognized as a model program for the sustainable use of a natural resource. Each year, alligator management units are established with appropriate harvest quotas to provide recreational opportunities for Floridians and non-residents who are at least 18 years old to take up to 2 alligators per permit. Applicants who are awarded a permit must submit payment for two CITES tags and an Alligator Trapping License, or provide proof of possession of an Alligator Trapping License valid through the end of the alligator harvest season. A Florida hunting license is not required to participate in the statewide alligator hunt.
Program News and Information
The Statewide Alligator Harvest season ended at 10 a.m. on November 1st. Remember that for each alligator that you harvest, a completed alligator harvest report form must be submitted to the FWC. The best way to do this is by using our online CITES Tag Reporting System. If you have any unused tags, they must be returned to the FWC at the following address.
FWC Alligator Management Program
620 S. Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399
The deadline to submit completed copies of alligator harvest report forms and return unused CITES tags is November 15, 2014.
NEW! Statewide Alligator Harvest Program permitting process survey results. In October we distributed a short online survey to help us determine if changes to the 2015 Statewide Alligator Harvest Program permitting process were needed. Thanks to all who participated; we truly value your input and feedback, and thank you for your interest in this unique hunting program.
Online Alligator Harvest Report Form for Statewide Alligator Harvest Program participants. You must know your FWC Customer ID number to access your records. This ID number is printed on the upper left side of your Alligator Trapping License. If you complete the online form, then you do not have to mail in a hard copy form, unless you transfer your alligator carcass to a commercial alligator processor, then you must also complete or print out a hard copy of the alligator harvest report form, and a copy of this form must be transferred with the carcass.
Updated! Attention STA alligator harvest permit holders! Please read the special rules on STA alligator harvest units (includes updated maps).
Important Reminder! There are no exemptions for Alligator Trapping Agent's licenses.
Currently, all alligator licenses are issued under a commercial licensing statute which does not provide for exemptions. The recreational license exemptions for persons under 16 years of age, senior citizens, and persons with disabilities do not apply
to alligator licenses. Alligator Trapping Agent’s licenses ($52) may be purchased at any county tax collector's office, sub-agent location (authorized sporting goods store or other retailer selling hunting or fishing licenses), through the Internet, or by calling 1-888-347-4356. Upon purchase these licenses can be used immediately. Anyone with an Alligator Trapping Agent’s license can help any licensed and permitted alligator trapper. Agents may only take alligators in the presence of a permitted alligator trapper.
Updated! All permits for the Statewide Alligator Harvest Program have SOLD OUT. Thank you for your interest in the public alligator hunt.
• Alligator Application Worksheet
• Alligator Harvest Units, Map and Projected Quotas
New! The Arthur R. Marshall Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge in Palm Beach County is now an alligator harvest unit. The alligator hunt on this area will be more restrictive than other areas. These additional restrictions are detailed in the A.R.M. Loxahatchee NWR alligator hunting brochure .
Information for County-wide Alligator Harvest Permit holders
Information about specific Alligator Harvest Units